Dejvice, a new district of Prague, was built according to a timeless and modern plan. However, the grand project that determined the development around “Kracak” was interrupted by the war and was never completed. The landscape near Prague Castle caught the attention of Charles IV, who wanted to build another Prague city here. 100 years ago Dejvice became part of the newly created metropolis of Greater Prague.
From the end of the 11th century, this unique district consists of picturesque corners of nature, as well as the generous urbanism of urban development, the charming villa district of Hanspolka or the functionalist colony of Baba There is the first surviving mention of The original village center of Deyvice was located near the old Probosztské Dvor, near present-day Probosztská Street, and in addition to the lord’s court, there were several cottages, including four farms and a forge.
The second settlement of the present-day Dejvice territory – Ujezd or Užezdek – was located in the present-day Sarka region. In the 14th century on the southern slope he had two noble courts and a peasant court, and from 971 there seems to have been also St. Matthew’s Church. Charles IV of the Czech Republic. At the time, he intended to establish the New Town of Prague precisely in the landscape where it is located today on the Djvice Cadastre, but then preferred the right bank of the Vltava River.
Deivice’s first urban development took place near the Brska railway station (local name) even before the First World War. This station was built outside the city walls in 1830, in Kladno, Stochowa and Laon. It was 15 years before the arrival of the first train in Prague. In Europe he was the second oldest public railway. The station building still remains today, and is located several dozen meters away from the current station building.
However, after Czechoslovakia became part of Prague in 1922, Dejvice experienced a remarkable development. The center of this district is associated with the name of the architect Antonin Engel. As a member of the National Regulatory Commission of his Prague Greater, he created a modern city plan for the entire region. A network of boulevards radiates from the circular Viteznehi Naměsti, where the Engel-designed Army General Staff building and adjoining houses with shops stand.
The vast square, which the people of Prague call ‘Kulaťák’, was originally supposed to be completely surrounded by buildings, but only the fuselage of the project materialized. Towards the adjacent university campus, empty spaces remained. Nevertheless, the building of the University of Chemistry and Technology, the Rector’s office, and other surrounding buildings are also works of Engel.
Construction gradually moved north from Victory Square, and after World War II, the International Hotel was built a kilometer from here in the style of socialist realism. Another monumental hotel is located on the hillside in the Hanspålka Villa district and also belongs to Dejvice. Built in 1981, the massive corrugated building is considered a classic example of “late modern architecture” with elements of Brutalism and stands on the site of the former Petsch Gardens. In 2014 the hotel was demolished.
The residential district of Hanspolka was built in the 1920s as part of the expansion of the capital. Before World War II, many architecturally interesting villas were built here – mostly functionalist and art deco houses.
Baba, an adjoining colony of functionalist family housing, was built specifically in 1932 as one of the six European colonies of modern housing. Typical of the houses here are skeleton structures, sash windows, flat roofs, white lime plaster or roof systems, so-called sun terraces.
Today about 23,000 inhabitants live on the territory of Dejvice.
#time #Dyvice #Charles #planned #town #Boom #Occurred #Republic #.cz